Summer Fun – Kiddie Acres

July 26, 2013

My work schedule seems to get busier and busier every year, which is a good thing and I am not complaining at all. But I also know that my kids will only be this little once and I want to make the most of it. I often struggle with a work/life balance, so this summer I’ve backed off of work a little and focused more on the life part.

A couple of weeks ago we headed up to Kiddie Acres, an amusement park of sorts in North Austin. I say of sorts, because it consists of 6 rides and some ponies. So its really small, but its manageable with a group of small kids.

2013-June-kiddie-acres-7

We met several  of our neighbors there plus some friends. The four kids all live in the neighborhood (the boys are all the same age, within just a few months). As you can see Fiona LOVED the rides, Lincoln on the other hand was not so sure about them.

2013-June-kiddie-acres-5

I think the boats were a favorite of all of the kids. My kids rode on them at least twice.

2013-June-kiddie-acres-2

Im pretty sure it was the steering wheels. Kids love steering wheels.

2013-June-kiddie-acres-3
Fiona got to ride the boats with her neighborhood bff. 

2013-June-kiddie-acres-9

And she got to pilot a plane. Seriously, I don’t know the last time I got this many photos of her smiling. She loved all the rides and had so much fun.

2013-June-kiddie-acres-1

I thought Lincoln was going to love the rides… but not so much. I had to ride everything with him. It was his first time on rides so I can understand that he was nervous. He saw the ponies, and all morning he just kept pointing and saying “yee-haw!”. So finally I asked if he wanted to ride the pony and he said “yes”.  They put him up on his pony and he loved it… right up until they started walking around the track and he could no longer see me. Then he cried and I had to join him.

2013-June-kiddie-acres-4

Fiona however was once again all grins and loved the pony. Look at that grin!

2013-June-kiddie-acres-12

In comparison this is the face that Lincoln made if I stepped away from him. He wanted to ride the boats one last time but he did not want to ride by himself. I somehow managed to wedge myself into one of those little boats (I had a bruise for a week) so that I could ride with him.

I’m hoping that next time we go he will like the rides a bit more, because there will be a next time (and hopefully soon)!

One Response to “Summer Fun – Kiddie Acres”

  1. Joe Bowman said

    Super beautiful and amazing picks!! And how awesome is God’s creations too!!

Leave a Reply

