Fiona’s 4th birthday, the carnival came to town (the design).

July 23, 2013

This past weekend was Fiona’s 4th birthday party. Months ago we discussed what kind of party she wanted, I figured it would be a Lalaloopsy party since she loves those creepy dolls, but nope she chose a carnival/circus theme.

Once again the invite was a collaboration between Mark and I. We discussed what it should look like and came up with the idea of Fiona as the ring master. Last year I drew her tea party invites and it took me forever so this year I delegated all illustration to Mark.

I tweaked the colors a little when he gave it to me, mostly just the background colors. Fiona’s favorite colors are pink and purple and that is what kind of carnival she wanted. Then I got to work on the text and fonts. So come one, come all to Fiona’s 4th birthday spectacular!

Fiona-4th-invite-back-outline-vista

So odd story; you will notice that there is no RSVP info. I totally forgot to add it. I would like to say I purposely left it off, but nope, I totally forgot. Mark didn’t even catch that I left it off. Oddly enough all but 1 person RSVPed (and the one, was a friend from Fiona’s school that I don’t have their contact info). Normally I have to follow up with people right before the party, but not this time. Apparently not telling people to do something encourages them to do it. I may try leaving RSVP info off again and see what happens.

Fiona-4th-invite-front-outline-vista

I also have a weird thing about invites or announcements that have a blank back side. There is nothing wrong with it, I just don’t like it. Seems like wasted real estate. So I decided to do a quick photo shoot with Fiona the morning that I sent off the invites to the printer. We sat outside on the deck and took a couple of photos and I let her choose her favorite. I think she made an excellent decision.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-3-Recovered

Besides the invites may favorite part of the party may have been the cupcakes. I saw the idea on pinterest and figured I would try to replicate it. I found some pink striped cupcake wrappers that looked like popcorn cups (except pink), and then spent a couple of hours turning marshmallows into popcorn. I LOVED the end result. And a bonus they tasted fabulous. Im not a frosting fan (although I do prefer my vegan frosting to regular buttercream), and I only used a tiny amount of frosting to adhere the marshmallows, the end result was seriously tasty.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-4-Recovered

I added a little yellow food coloring to add “butter” to the popcorn. I have no idea if the kids thought they were cool or not, I do know that the marshmallows were the first thing eaten off of them all.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-5-Recovered

Some of the other snacks were peanuts and animals cookies.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-6-Recovered

And of course we had actual popcorn as well (air popped and flavored with Parmesan cheese).

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-8-Recovered

Too keep the kids hydrated we some Big Top Water (and some juice boxes).

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-10-Recovered

Here was part of the food table. I also made fruit skewers, which were surprisingly popular. I made a ton and there wasn’t a single one left. To round out the carnival themed food we had corn dogs (veggie and chicken. So that I could eat them too), and french fries (well sweet potato fries).

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-12-Recovered

What is a carnival without games? I lined up the favor bags near the door so that they could use them to hold their prizes that they won at the games.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-11-Recovered

We had a bean bag toss.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-18-Recovered

A ring toss, where you could win your very own (soap) goldfish!

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-20-Recovered

Fiona practicing her ring toss skills before the party got started. Her and Lincoln were playing the games all morning.

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-21
A (fake) tattoo station where they could make themselves in the tattooed man or lady. My awesome nephew manned that station, and he was very busy the whole morning. I think he applied over 50 tattoos!

2013-July-4th-birthday-party-41-Recovered

There was a magnetic duck “fishing” pond which turned out to be the favorite game of the day (and they got to take home the duck that they caught).

We also had a balloon artist; another hit of the party. I didn’t take any photos that showed the whole game room, but we had streams and flags cris crossing the ceiling with balloons in the center to make it look/feel more like a carnival. The party was fun and chaotic. All of the kids had a blast. It was fun to put together, and I think it came together well. 

More party photos to come!

Leave a Reply

