Moving on up

March 8, 2013

I know I have been quiet for a few weeks, but I have a very good reason. Two weeks ago I showed up on site for a client, opened up my laptop to turn it on… and nothing happened. Luckily my client had a laptop for me to use, but I was worried about my “baby”. My husband and I had been talking about upgrading my laptop for awhile, but I had been putting it off. My laptop had been with me for 4 years (I know, I know, in computer age that is ancient), went with me to 5 states and 2 countries. I was emotionally invested in my laptop, and even thinking of buying a new computer felt like cheating on it. But my laptop made the decision for me, and the hard drive was kaput. 

Luckily I back up most of my work to the cloud and back everything else up once a month or so. Which meant that I could jump right back into work with a loaner laptop until I could get my laptop situation remedied. Unfortunately the only thing I hadn’t backed up to my back-up drive recently was all my photos that were in progress of being edited. So my laptop is off for a data transfer, and fingers crossed I remembered to back up lightroom recently. I pick up my laptop today, so I will find out whether I will be starting all over in lightroom (so far my user presets aren’t accessible) or if I can pick up where I left up. 

So it will probably be a little while before I start posting photos again. But once I am back up and running (and once I learn this pesky new operating system) I promise I will have lots and lots of photos.

Leave a Reply

