A beachy wedding – the design

October 12, 2012

A very dear friend of mine got married while we were in California, that was the whole reason we went to California. She was actually suppose to get married a year ago, but they were having the reception at their new house (my old house, which, ummm…might have been a wee bit awkward) and they weren’t done with renovations so luckily for me they pushed it back a year. I say luckily, because if you remember a few week ago a certain little boy turned 1 which meant that I was very pregnant and not allowed to travel when their wedding was suppose to be. In case I couldn’t make it I made one of our friends promise that she would stand right up front and skype the whole thing with me so that I could at least virtually be there. But luckily I was able to be a real guest instead of just a virtual one.

This friend asked if I would design the invites (psshh, like I would have even let anyone else do it!). They wanted a beachy feel to the invites but still wanted to be formal.

We came up with the design of the invites and then carried that same look to all of the other printed material; save-the-dates, thank-yous, maps, rsvp cards, programs, drink menus, and mad libs that they placed on the table to keep guests entertained.

The brides did alot of the work for the wedding themselves with friends pitching in where they were needed. That is my favorite kind of wedding. It personal and reflects so much of the personality of the couple. My friend and her wife are laid back woman and their relaxed beach themed reception reflected that. My friend, Jill, is also a total do it your selfer. Her and her dad pretty much handled the remodel of their house and did an amazing job. So when it came time to decide on favors they decided to make coasters by branding their initials into wood. I think I can honestly say its the first time some one ever asked be to design a brand.

They did an amazing job with all of the details of the wedding. I was busy with the brides documenting them get ready so I didn’t get too many of the reception prep shots (Im sure my husband got a ton, so I will post a better photo of the coasters at some point).

But this is what the coasters and the mad libs looked like at the table.

I was honored to be a part of their day. I took all the getting ready shots, which was great because I got to spend the day with my friend watching her marry the woman she loves. Next week I will post photos from the wedding day.

Leave a Reply

