Life with a toddler… and a baby

September 21, 2011

Things have been busy around here. Our son Lincoln Gray was born on September 15th at 3:28 pm.

I normally try to keep this blog work related, but I will get personal with this post and tell the story of little Lincoln’s arrival.

Lincoln was scheduled to arrive on the 14th, but the results of the amnio that I had earlier in the week were not the results we were hoping for, and one of my dr’s wanted to wait another 12 days. Due to me being a high risk pregnancy I was scheduled to deliver at 36 weeks and 3 days, which I realize is early. But our other living child; Fiona, was an emergency c-section and the type of c-section my dr performed meant that all future pregnancies would need to be early deliveries or risk both my life and the childs. We knew this going into the pregnancy and understood the consequences.

But the results of the amnio showed that Lincoln’s lungs needed 12 more days to mature. My husband and I had a meeting with my other dr on the morning of the 15th to discuss options. How long do we wait? How long is it safe? After meeting with the dr, we discovered I was in early labor, and she decided to err on the side of caution and sent me over to labor and delivery to wait until I hit 4cm’s (I was 3cm at her office) at which point I would deliver. We figured it might be day or even 2 days. So we came home got my stuff together and headed over to the hospital. In the 2 hours it took for us to get to the hospital (we took our time), I was 4 cm and having contractions every 2 minutes.

88 minutes after we got to the hospital Lincoln was born via c-section. And we discovered the amnio results were wrong. He came out screaming with lungs that were fully mature. He was a big boy and weighed in at 8lbs and 3oz (not bad for a 36 weeker!) and was 20.5 inches long. I got to see him before he was taken to the nursery to wait for me to finish up with the surgery. I got to hold him just 45 minutes after delivery. It was a very different experience then my previous 2 deliveries, and one I will treasure for the rest of my life.

I stayed in the hospital for 4 days before coming home to embark on the next chapter of this adventure we call life.

I will be taking a few weeks off of work as I recover from surgery but I’m sure there will be the occasional post of the kiddos and how life is changing as we introduce another child to our family.

Leave a Reply

