Baking her daddy a cake

August 26, 2011

Opps, its been a month since I’ve posted. I’ve been really busy finishing up non work related projects the last month and haven’t had a chance to update my blog. I have done some photo editing, so hopefully I will be sharing some photos over the next few days. Because suddenly I find my self in the hospital on bed rest as I inch toward the end of another pregnancy (hence the lots of no work related projects, things like organizing closets and getting baby stuff prepared).

The day that I ended up in the hospital was my husbands birthday. Our daughter decided he needed a cake. We were playing when she announced “Don’t worry daddy, I make you a cake”. So that’s what we did, we headed downstairs and I helped her bake her daddy a birthday cake. I prepared the ingredients and she added them, and helped mix.She was very proud of herself and thought it was alot of fun.

The cake went into the oven and she sat on the floor watching the cake bake. She ran and got her daddy to show him that his cake was baking.

Once the cake cooled (I even put it in the fridge to speed the process up), it was time to frost and decorate. I frosted and let Fiona go crazy with the decorations (I only helped when she poured all the sprinkles in one spot and I shook the cake a bit to even out the sprinkles).

There might have been some taste testing involved in the decorating of the cake… or a lot of taste testing.

She was really proud of her cake, and when she was done she ran to the bottom of the stairs and yelled up to her daddy that his cake was ready. She dragged him to the kitchen talking nonstop about the cake. You can see from the look on her daddy’s face that he loved his cake, and the little baker who made it for him.

We lit a candle and sang him happy birthday, and then Fiona asked if she could eat some cake, well her words were “Cake on my tongue? In my mouth?” She thought her cake tasted just as good as it looked!

Happy birthday Mark!

3 Responses to “Baking her daddy a cake”

  1. Leah said

    couldn’t ask for a better gift!!

  2. This is so awesome….love the pics 🙂
    Looks like you had an awesome Birthday Mark.

  3. Julie Stockstill said

    This is so adorable!

Leave a Reply

