Maternity shoot: Jill

July 21, 2011

On my recent trip to California I did a maternity shoot with a good friend of mine. I met her over a decade ago at my first “real” design job. It was back in the dot com days and we were both working at a online greeting card start up. I was a web designer and she was in marketing. When things were slow we would play crosswords online with each other. Over the years we have been in each others weddings and she was there to celebrate the birth of my two daughters. And she held my hand and cleaned my house while I mourned the loss of one of those daughters. Needless to say Jill is a fabulous person, a good friend, and she will make an amazing mother.

I was honored to shoot her maternity photos and to celebrate the life she will soon be bringing in to this world. Jill is very athletic, her husband is a person trainer and owns a small gym. She cycles, runs, swims (we have even done triathlons together) and does yoga. I thought it might be fun to do a shoot outside in nature and incorporate some yoga into it. Early Sunday morning we headed out to a redwood grove near her house and Jill warmed up with some stretches.

She also wanted to do some photos in “normal” clothes. She changed and we wandered through the redwood forest.

I think this one is one of my favorites. She is so petite and adorable.

And I love when pregnant woman are willing to show their bellies! Its something to be celebrated. Our bodies go through so much during pregnancy, and sometimes its hard to enjoy what a beautiful thing it is.

I’m glad that Jill was game to wade across creeks and sit on tree stumps for me. She is a very natural person and I think the redwood groves was a prefect reflection of that.

Congratulations, Jill! I wish I could be there to celebrate with you when you welcome your baby, but I will be cheering for you!

3 Responses to “Maternity shoot: Jill”

  1. Leah said

    great pics!!, you never cease to amaze me. wonderful job. the setting was perfect too

  2. Angela Nuttman said

    Okay, seriously, stop it. I’m bawling over here. These are so beautiful and your words are so touching. I love you ladies!

  3. […] Jill, I snapped some photos of her adorable daughter Lilly (and in the above photo, Lincoln as well) […]

Leave a Reply

