Hello summer

July 4, 2011

It officially summer, at least according to the calendar. I don’t know about everyone else but its been hot around here for awhile already.  Austin was ready for summer about a month and a half ago. We haven’t had much rain yet this year, so it amazes me how green everything is. I once got into a disagreement with my color theory instructor about the color of seasons (he was not originally from CA), I painted summer with alot of browns in it. He said that summer wasn’t brown it was green, my response to him was “open the door and look outside, do you see any green?” Luckily the class was held in summer and he had to admit that summer in San Jose, CA was colored a bit different then in other places.

So it surprises me that summer here is green and full of flowers. Sunflowers line the roads, and fill fields. To celebrate the kick off of summer I thought it would be a great idea to do a shoot with Fiona in a field of sunflowers. I had the shot that I wanted in my head, and I arrived all eager to get it. And then reality slapped me in the face that working with a toddler is not like working with a model or even a grown up for that matter. Fiona stood in the middle of that field and cried that she wanted to go back to the car. After a couple failed attempts of trying to cheer her up and have her look at flowers, we gave up and rescheduled for another day.

Round 2; we once again show up at the field, but Fiona refused to leave the car without her entourage (her 2 dolls), it looked like Baby and Pink were coming with us if i had any hope of a somewhat happy Fiona.

Off we went in search of flowers. I quickly learned that Fiona had no interest in the flowers, but she thought the dirt and bugs were cool.

When working with real people; toddlers, pregnant moms, engaged couples; I have to let go of “the shot” that I want and live in the moment and just capture life. After all thats what I love about photography; capturing the moment.

We started having fun and Fiona hunted for lady bugs.

Happy 4th of July everyone, and I hope everyone is enjoying summer as much as we are!

Leave a Reply

