Salted Caramel Cupcakes

July 26, 2010

A couple weeks ago a few friends and I met up for a much needed girls night at a wine bar. Fabulous company, conversation, and excellent wine. But the best part of the evening was easily the scoop of salted caramel ice cream that we shared. I think each one of us was eyeing the bowl and hoping nobody would notice if we licked it clean.

I got home and decided that I wanted to try to capture those flavors in a cupcake. I searched around for different Salted Caramel cupcake recipes. The one I attempted was a little underwhelming, so another attempt will be made…but oh that salted caramel! I made a brown sugar cupcake and filled it with some of the salted caramel, and then whipped some of the same salted caramel into the buttercream frosting. So tasty! I was at home so I had no shame in licking the bowl.

I had some leftover chocolate cupcakes that I also frosted with the salted caramel buttercream, and I think those came out much better. The chocolate cupcakes were much fluffier and suited the lightness of the buttercream.

I made a double batch of the salted caramel so that I could have some left over for ice cream, and to give as a thank you gift to one of my friends.

I can’t wait to try making these cupcakes again! Okay, I really just want an excuse to make more salted caramel.

Leave a Reply

